MahaRERA P51900003343 (Active) · 1st & 2nd Carpenter Street, Bhuleshwar/Girgaon, C-Ward · DCR 33(7) cessed redevelopment · M/s Buildwell Developers (proprietorship)
Overall Score5.3/10as of 09/26
The brochure sells a finished South-Mumbai 'signature' address; the reality is a complete, occupied cessed-building redevelopment sold without an occupation certificate, on a plot the developer does not yet fully own - with car-lift-only parking and a rehab-majority tower the marketing never mentions.
Flags- The developer does not yet own about 15% of the plot the tower stands on - a ~155 sq.m parcel with no acquisition instrument on file.
- A complete, occupied and resold tower with no occupation certificate - not even a part OC - more than three years past its original date.
The composite is held to the middle by real, resolvable problems on an otherwise finished building: the developer's title stops ~15% short of the plot the tower stands on, there is no occupation certificate on a building already occupied and reselling, the parking is car-lift-only, and the tower is a dense, rehab-majority shared-core one. Offsetting them: construction risk is largely retired, the kitchens and the area price are fair, and the marketing is honest on the numbers. Revisit at OC and once the 2989 acquisition and the tenant handover are documented.
The five things that decide it
1The title stops short of the plot: C.S. 2989, ~15% of the land the tower stands on, is in the building approval but outside the developer's title, the land record and the MHADA No-Objection Certificate, with no purchase deed on file.
2A finished, occupied, resold building with no occupation certificate - not even a part-OC - three-plus years late, with OC still gated on handing the rehab flats over and closing the 2989 title.
3The building is materially complete and lived-in - structure and finishes certified 100% (lifts 70%, fire 95%) and the developer's own office has moved in, so construction risk is largely behind you.
4Parking is car-lift-only with no ramp: two lifts feed seven podium decks, you never drive to your bay, and a lift failure strands every car.
5A rehab-majority shared tower: ~124 rehab homes and shops for former cessed tenants are interleaved with 87 sale flats around one lobby and lift core, above a heritage-market ground floor - none of it in the 'signature' pitch.
Livability
4.8/10MixedPillar score is the average of the scored attributes below; some attributes are qualitative and carry questions rather than a number.
Compound Density4.0/10
A quarter-acre carrying 211 units and a parking podium
Very high intra-plot density: 211 sanctioned units plus a seven-deck car-lift parking podium on a ~1,006 sq.m (quarter-acre) plot, with about 12.6 floor area (FSI) consumed under the 33(7) rehab-plus-incentive regime.
- And it is same-building co-habitation, not a separate rehab wing: about 124 rehab homes and shops rehousing ~116 former cessed occupiers are interleaved floor-by-floor with the 87 sale flats around one shared lobby and lift core.
- The density a sale buyer lives with is a crowded, mixed-population, shared-core tower.
Understand “Compound Density” on the X-Ray page ↗Neighbourhood4.0/10
A dense, congested market quarter, still densifying
- A historic Bhuleshwar/Girgaon market precinct near Gulalwadi Circle: narrow Carpenter Street access, heavy footfall, and a stock of old cessed buildings that will keep churning into 33(7) towers.
- Field-confirmed on the ground - narrow lanes and heavy surrounding over-development.
There is no corridor pipeline registry here, so the neighbourhood five years out is a field read, and it points to a still-densifying, congested quarter rather than an improving one.
Understand “Neighbourhood” on the X-Ray page ↗Peak-Hour Connectivity4.5/10
About twenty minutes to the coastal road
- Field-measured at about twenty minutes from the plot to the nearest Coastal Road / Marine Drive entry for an 11am weekday.
- The straight-line distance to the sea is only ~1 km, but the narrow Bhuleshwar and Carpenter Street lanes and the C-Ward market congestion dominate the real drive - a middling access read for a nominally central address.
Fixable? Builders like to sell connectivity as kilometres from a landmark — but the real test is time, not distance: how long you would actually be stuck, at peak hour, just getting to a fast arterial like a Sea Link or Coastal Road on-ramp. The access route and the on-ramp are municipal and outside the developer's control, so there is no fix to offer — only an honest read of the peak-hour reality today and the area's trajectory by 2032, once the surrounding pipeline has built out.
Understand “Peak-Hour Connectivity” on the X-Ray page ↗Kitchen Ventilation9.0/10
Kitchens on the outside wall - a clean air path
- On both the rehab and sale plates the kitchens sit on the external envelope, opening onto chhajjas, balconies or ducts, and the 1BHK render confirms the kitchen on an outside window wall - a clean exterior air path, which passes.
- It is read off compressed sheets, so an inner-unit kitchen is worth a quick field check on a high-resolution plate.
Understand “Kitchen Ventilation” on the X-Ray page ↗Lift Wait5.0/10
A thin passenger-lift core for 34 floors
- The central core has four shafts, but only about two are for daily passenger use - the others are a fire lift and a firemen's lift - serving 34 floors and roughly 196 homes (six flats on a typical sale plate, eleven or twelve on the lower rehab plates).
- The lift-wait engine returns Grade D.
- The on-site read of the illegible plate saw four lifts including one fire and one service - about two passenger lifts, a touch better than one, but still a thin core for the population.
- Worth firming the number actually in daily passenger service.
At peak, a thin two-lift passenger core for ~196 homes over 34 floors means noticeable morning waits on the mid-rehab plates that carry eleven-plus flats.
What to ask the builder- How many lifts are in daily passenger service, and what are their speed and capacity?
Understand “Lift Wait” on the X-Ray page ↗Water Adequacy5.5/10
No shortfall shown, but the water No-Objection Certificate isn't closed
No explicit water shortfall is evidenced: the approval requires revised hydraulic-engineer remarks, extra water and sewerage charges, a recycling plant and rainwater harvesting, and the January 2025 certificate records water supply, sewerage, storm-water and rainwater harvesting all at 100%.
- But the hydraulic-engineer tenement count is not in the filed set, so the water-versus-units check cannot be closed cleanly.
- It reads adequate on current evidence, pending the final HE / water-works No-Objection Certificate that the OC will require.
Understand “Water Adequacy” on the X-Ray page ↗Parking2.5/10
Car-lift-only, no ramp - the building's real demerit
- Parking is fully mechanised with no drivable ramp anywhere in the sanctioned set.
- Two full-height car-lift shafts feed seven stacked podium decks up to the ninth floor - 124 bays for 211 units, which exceeds the statutory 78 - but you cannot drive to your space, you surrender the car to a lift, and a lift failure strands every car on the podium.
- The municipal approval itself required a registered indemnity against hardship from mechanised-parking failure.
Field-confirmed on the ground: two car lifts, podium parking to the ninth floor, a very congested plot. In a market where self-park is the prize, this is the opposite of an edge.
What to ask the builder- At peak, how long is car retrieval, what is the fallback if a lift is down, and which deck is your bay on?
Understand “Parking” on the X-Ray page ↗Build Planning & Qualitynot yet scored
A checklist to verify with the builder — Rexray will score this attribute as the field database grows.
Rexray's database will, over time, be enriched with the attention to detail and quality ethos of each builder. For now, below is the checklist you should verify with the builder before you decide.
What to ask the builder- Who's the architect, and what comparable have they delivered?
- Do the lobbies need lights during the day?
- Gym/pool/lobby sized for how many residents? (gym sqft / residents)
- Does this unit's layout meet your Vastu requirements (entry, kitchen, master)?
- Can a fire tender or an ambulance reach the lobby?
- Who is actually building it?
- Mivan or conventional — and how are the tie-holes grouted and cracks controlled?
- What's the realistic floor-cycle, and how does the monsoon factor in?
- Which steel/cement? Facade glazing spec? MEP contractor? STP/solar?
- Which marble/fittings exactly? Which window system? VRV brand?
- Deck/bathroom waterproofing system? How's the facade sealed into the structure?
- Gypsum or block internal walls — and are the party walls insulated?
- Does the back-up generator power my whole flat, or only the common areas?
- Is the parking solo, tandem, or a mechanical stack — and how wide are the bays?
Understand “Build Planning & Quality” on the X-Ray page ↗Community4.0/10
A genuinely mixed, rehab-and-commercial community
This is a cessed-building redevelopment in which the rehoused former occupiers are a large in-building cohort: about 124 rehab homes and shops (rehousing ~116 certified occupiers of six cessed buildings) interleaved floor-by-floor with 87 sale flats and eleven rehab shops on the heritage-market ground floor, all around one shared lobby and core.
A sale buyer joins a genuinely mixed social, economic and residential-plus-commercial community with a busy ground floor - a real and permanent part of the product that the 'signature' framing leaves out.
What to ask the builder- What is the ticket-size range in the building — the gap between the cheapest and the most expensive home?
- Is the building vegetarian-only, or skewed to a single community?
- Is it owner-occupied, or investor- and tenant-heavy?
- What is the pet policy?
Understand “Community” on the X-Ray page ↗
Findings register
13 findings · severity-ranked
Every marketed claim set against the documented fact, sourced. Critical and high first.
HIGH
A ~155 sq.m parcel (C.S. 2989) is inside the sanction but outside the title opinion and the land record
MarketedNot addressed in marketing
DocumentedTitle/No-Objection Certificate/encumbrance/land-record = 7 parcels / 851.17 sq.m (no 2989); Commencement Certificate/plan/Form 1/promoter sale recital = 8 parcels incl. 2989 / 1005.85 sq.m; acquisition instrument for 2989 absent
A ~155 sq.m parcel (C.S. 2989) is inside the sanction but outside the title opinion and the land record
Source: registered documents, government filings
MED-HIGH
A cessed-building 33(7) redevelopment where rehab is a large in-building cohort, not disclosed in marketing
MarketedPremium 'signature' residences
Documented~124 rehab tenements (109 resi + 15 commercial) interleaved with 87 sale flats in one shared-core tower; 6 cessed buildings; ~116 certified occupiers rehoused in-building
A cessed-building 33(7) redevelopment where rehab is a large in-building cohort, not disclosed in marketing
Source: registered documents, government filings
MED-HIGH
A court-driven 3+ year delay, and the registered tenant PAAAs now point at flat numbers that no longer exist
MarketedNot addressed; portal litigation 'No'
DocumentedSC order 17.12.2013 (Kohinoor CTNL, 6 m open space) -> MCGM 03.02.2014 -> 2990/2991 amalgamation -> amended plans 09.10.2017; completion 30.12.2023 -> 31.03.2027; PAAAs being re-amended (promoter letters 21.11.2018)
A court-driven 3+ year delay, and the registered tenant PAAAs now point at flat numbers that no longer exist
Source: registered documents, government filings
MEDIUM
Fully mechanised car-lift-only parking — no drivable ramp anywhere
MarketedParking not depicted in marketing
Documented2 'CARLIFT WELL' shafts, 7 stacked decks + 2 M.P. floors, 124 bays, no ramp (Sections + parking plates); the building approval-amendment cond. 15 mechanised-failure indemnity
Fully mechanised car-lift-only parking — no drivable ramp anywhere
Source: government filings, registered documents
MEDIUM
Thin lift core for a 34-floor tower — effectively one passenger lift for ~196 homes
MarketedNot addressed
DocumentedCore = 1 passenger + 1 service + 1 fire + 1 firemen's lift; 34 floors, ~196 homes; lift-wait engine Grade D (~61-187 s)
Thin lift core for a 34-floor tower — effectively one passenger lift for ~196 homes
Source: government filings
MEDIUM
The RERA portal is stale — BUA, unit count, rehab split and parking all disagree with the sanction
MarketedNot addressed
DocumentedPortal BUA 7,960.45 / 851.17 sq.m / 209 units / 91 rehab / 88 parking vs sanctioned 12,675.40 / 1,005.85 sq.m / 211 units / 124 rehab / 124 parking; inventory 210 / ~86 rehab
The RERA portal is stale — BUA, unit count, rehab split and parking all disagree with the sanction
Source: registered documents, government filings
MEDIUM
Materially complete and occupied, but no Occupation Certificate is on the record
MarketedNot addressed
DocumentedForm 1 structure 100% / lifts 70% / fire 95%; Form 2 93.32%; society formed + flats reselling; no OC/part-OC in the record; completion revised to 31.03.2027
Materially complete and occupied, but no Occupation Certificate is on the record
Source: government filings, registered documents
MEDIUM
Built with an open-space deficiency, and buyers pre-consent to neighbours' deficient development
MarketedNot addressed
Documentedthe building approval-amendment conds. 5c (open-space-deficiency premium), 13 (no-objection to neighbours' deficiency), 14 (disclosure of own deficiency), 32/47 (deficient manoeuvring/driveway)
Built with an open-space deficiency, and buyers pre-consent to neighbours' deficient development
Source: government filings, registered documents
LOW-MED
The building envelope grew twice mid-construction — 22 to 28 to 34 floors, 163 to 211 flats
MarketedNot addressed
DocumentedCommencement Certificate endorsements: up to 22nd (2018) -> 28th (2020) -> 34th + fitness (2021); flats 163 (draft) -> 211 (sanctioned)
The building envelope grew twice mid-construction — 22 to 28 to 34 floors, 163 to 211 flats
Source: government filings
LOW-MED
The title opinion and no-encumbrance certificate were issued from the promoter's own office
MarketedNot addressed
DocumentedAdv. R.D. Khare's office address = the promoter's registered office (Alankar Theatre Building, 245/247 S.V.P. Road)
The title opinion and no-encumbrance certificate were issued from the promoter's own office
Source: registered documents
LOW-MED
A single-proprietor developer with no corporate veil and no declared track record
MarketedNot addressed
DocumentedM/s Buildwell Developers = sole proprietorship of Pavan Kumar B. Chandan; 'Past Experience: No' on the portal
A single-proprietor developer with no corporate veil and no declared track record
Source: registered documents
LOW-MED
The nil-encumbrance position is clean but self-declared, never independently searched
MarketedNot addressed
DocumentedNil charge declared (advocate 2017, Form B, Form 5, portal); CERSAI is a self-declaration ('report not submitted'), no independent search
The nil-encumbrance position is clean but self-declared, never independently searched
Source: registered documents
LOW-MED
Marketing shows large 3/4BHK 'signature' residences over a mostly-small-unit sanction
Marketed1/2/3/4 BHK premium 'signature' residences
DocumentedSanctioned plates are mostly small 1/2 BHK (rehab + sale); marketed 3/4BHK are amalgamated large units (C45)
Marketing shows large 3/4BHK 'signature' residences over a mostly-small-unit sanction
Source: marketing, government filings